Home The Grey Lady Pizza Express Music Room The Pheasantry Share/Bookmark

The Grey Lady Music Lounge, Tuesday 25th October 2016

Headline Act: Sean de Burca

click to enlarge

Sean de Burca is a percussive acoustic guitarist from Kent. By the time he had been playing guitar for just 7 years, he had already been named as one of the top 30 greatest acoustic guitarists under the age of 30 worldwide by Acoustic Guitar Magazine, alongside Ed Sheeran, Newton Faulkner and more. Sean has also been featured as Acoustic Magazine’s ‘Next Big Thing’. On his latest CD, Mechanism, an experimental album combining various playing styles and genres, Sean has also featured his bass guitar, drums and electric guitar playing alongside his original solo acoustic compositions.

“From harmonics to percussive slapping to agile fretboard dancing, this southpaw knows a thing or two about getting the most sound possible out of his guitar. On his three full-length releases on Bandcamp, the self-taught guitarist shows he isn’t afraid of taking risks.”
Acoustic Guitar Magazine 2014

Show full profile »

Michael Wood

click to enlarge

Michael Wood is a singer, songwriter and an acoustic musician.

Michael grew up listening to the likes of the ‘The Who,’ ‘The Jam’ and everything 'mod' and began his own musical career as the second half of a band called ‘Mod Scene’ when he was just 16.

Michael went on to become the lead Singer/Guitarist in an Indie rock band known as ‘The Sessions.’ Michael penned a number of songs for the band and they recorded their own album-‘The Demise of Mike’ in 2011. The band played a UK tour in 2010, before going their separate ways in late 2011.

These days Michael is concentrating on his solo career and already has a solo album under his belt-‘Long Time Coming (2009)’. Michael has recently written his second album, which he will be recording later this summer.

Michael writes all of his own material and his style of music is Indie with a real emphasis on the Acoustic Guitar. Michael cites his own musical influences to be Ocean Colour Scene, The Smiths and Paul Weller.

Show full profile »

Social Media Sins

click to enlarge

Social Media Sins is a four-piece young contemporary rock band from Sevenoaks, Kent, formed in Spring 2016 consisting of Sean Manuel (lead vocal/songwriter/acoustic guitar), Torre Redman (vocal/lead guitar), Jon Bannister (bass guitar) and Patrick Fulton (drums).

Recently formed, the band are continually evolving. Their music is an eclectic blend of acoustic pop, rock and some hip hop drawing inspiration from many different genres of music/bands/ artists such as The Beatles, The Jam, Eric Clapton, Ed Sheeran, The Rolling Stones and their music teacher singer/songwriter Dan Clews.

Show full profile »